World Cup 2018: Here’s How Much Prize Money Each Country Will Take Home


On Sunday, France defeated Croatia 4-2 in the 2018 FIFA World Cup final. As a result, the French national team will take home $38 million in prize money, while Croatia will be rewarded $28 million for their finish as the runner up. This year’s prize money marked a new record high, for the winning country, as well as all of the participating teams.

In 2017, the FIFA Council announced that the organization’s total contributions to the fund the 2018 World Cup would total just under $800 million — a 40% increase from the 2014 tournament. This increase in funding means that France won more prize money than any winner in World Cup history.

France and Croatia are not the only teams who will be taking home a significant amount of prize money. In addition to $1.5 million to cover “preparation costs” — all teams that advanced to the group stage receive a minimum of $8 million in prize money.


Here’s how the prize money breaks down:

17th-32nd place: $8 million

Ninth-16th place: $12 million

Fifth-Eighth place: $16 million

Fourth place: $22 million

Third place: $24 million

Second place: $28 million

First place: $38 million

Dale Cooper

Dale Cooper

Spent 10+ years in corporate finance before I realized how much more I enjoyed writing and advising people on how to achieve financial freedom. We all have different goals, what are yours?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Want to Learn Ways to Make & Save Extra Money?

Sign up for Free Updates: